top of page

Interview with Lucas Nord


Photo by: Adéle Askelöf

In the last few days we featured Swedish Singer/Songwriter/Producer Lucas Nord as one of our Band of the day posts but felt like we didn’t want to stop there. His music is something else! We loved it so we got in touch with him and asked him a few quick questions for you.

Q: How long have you been making music, what has inspired you and who are your favorite artists of all time?

A: I’ve been writing songs since I was like 13 but started off playing the drums when I was 5 or 6 years old. I got into producing a bit later in high school when I was probably about 15-16. My grandpa, uncle and mom was and are musicians so didn’t really have a choice haha.. I get inspired by just everyday life I think. New good music is always inspiring too of course.

Tough one, I’d say Craig David has always been a favourite of mine. Also this Swedish guy, Salem Al Fakir who put out some great records a couple of years ago is someone I listened to a lot growing up. Don’t think i have anyone else really. I’m always interested in new stuff and new artists.

Q: You’ve worked with a lot of talented people such as Tove Lo. What is it like to have someone else involved when you produce a track?

It’s just a lot fun. Usually I produce the track myself but I often write the songs with other people. Sometimes it’s super nice to just do it all by yourself from start to finish but it’s always nice to have other peoples input. To write a track with someone else, get super excited about it and share that feeling is awesome.

Q: Where do you see yourself in five years?

A: I see myself doing the exact same thing as I do now. Write songs, play live and just continue to work with music. Hopefully I’ll just play bigger venues and on bigger stages and get to travel the world doing that.

Q: What did you do to get to where you are now in your career?

A: Probably 90% hard work and 10% talent. I understood quite early when I decided to give music a go that no one’s gonna do anything for you. I started e-mailing people about doing remixes for them just to make stuff happen for myself and get my name out there. I also just spent every minute awake working on new stuff trying to get better at everything. I studied music in high school and people there were at the time a lot better than me at producing and writing but didn’t do anything with their talent. If you want something to happen you need to be driven and get shit done yourself. That’s just how it is.

Q: What is a normal day like for you? What do you do when you’re not working on music?

A normal day is just me waking up going through e-mails and then head to the studio. Sometimes i work by myself and other times I have a session with another artist or writer. I just spend my days writing songs pretty much. I really don’t do much else.

Huge thanks Lucas and Malin from all of us at MTN for making this possible!

Follow Lucas Nord!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page